‘How far can you bounce?’

The crowd jeered and took selfies
before I took my leap,
or at least that’s how
the newspaper put it;
that I’d been goaded with shouts
of ‘How far can you bounce?’.
In truth I could hardly have heard
from the tarmac below
all the way up to the top
of the multi-story car-park,
in the centre of town.
No, I didn’t want witnesses
but couldn’t really care less
that they stayed for the spectacle,
I’d have jumped either way.
So I suppose there’s no need
to be ‘worried for this generation’,
as one onlooker was quoted –
who’d asked not to be named.

Leave a Reply

