All the way from Scotland, for a week

A knock at the door
and who walks in,
but my long lost brother-in-law
plus his wife and two kids.

I remember him thinner,
well, younger, at least,
with fewer chins
and a narrower waist.

I help bring the bags in
from his luxurious car
and I begin the week’s small talk,
complimenting the car’s colour.

The sat nav found us okay
and the traffic was fine
all the way down from their house
– though he did get a ticket.

And I’m pure charming,
in spite of earlier objections.
I’m asking questions, and smiling,
and nodding, and agreeing.

See me, pal.

Leave a Reply

